New Life Journal

You may be saying, "I know I need to be reading God's Word, but why do I need to journal as well?" The answer is: to get God's Word in your heart! How do we get to know God? We know Him through His Word, the Bible. 2 Timothy 2:15 encourages us to, "Be diligent to present yourself approved to God, a worker who does not need to be ashamed, rightly dividing the word of truth." Exercising everyday would be a diligent way to get strong, muscular and BIG physically. Reading God's Word everyday would be a diligent way to get strong, muscular and BIG spiritually. When you add journaling to your reading, you enable God's Word to become living and active in your life. You also begin to "rightly divide the word of truth."

The information below will help you better understand how to begin a life-long habit of both reading the Bible daily and journaling. As you journal you are writing to deepen your understanding of God's ways, to embrace insights into  His Word, and to allow God to cultivate a relationship with you as He speaks to you through His Word. This is an age old truth: there is a direct relationship between our devotion to God's written Word and our capacity to say "Yes!" to His living Word--Jesus! When we grow dull to the Bible, we will grow dull in our relationship with Him.

It is my desire that we, as a congregation, learn to embrace the Word of God on a practical level in our lives daily. As this happens we will walk in more victory, with more power, and accomplish more of God's will than ever before.

Pastor Dennis


How to use the New Life Journal

Step 1

Find today's scheduled Bible reading chapters on your chosen reading program, located in your journal pamphlet. Turn to the chapter(s) in your Bible, asking God (this is prayer) to speak to you through His Word and by His Holy Spirit. You may also click the links below (organized by month and date) to read each day's portion of scripture online or on your mobile device.

Step 2

While reading the passages from your selected daily reading plan, underline key words or verses through which God is speaking to you. You'll know them because He will cause them to catch your attention, and He'll show you how they apply to your life.

Step 3

After reading, turn to the first available page of your journal and record what God is saying to you.

  • Enter today's date.
  • Give your journal entry a title and topic.
  • Scripture: Write down the main scripture.
  • Observation: Write what you see in the scripture.
  • Application: Write how you will be different today because of what you have just read. What will you do to apply this verse in your life?
  • Prayer: Write out you prayer to God in response to what He has shown you in this verse.

Step 4

Step up a table of contents in the front of your journal. Write your entry by date, scripture, topic, title, and page.

Step 5

Conclude your time with praise and worship to God and praying for the needs of others.

Three Bible Reading Plans

Following a reading plan--especially with your church--is important for unity, accountability, discipline, and systematic instruction in God's Word. The New Life Journal has three plans to choose from, but all of them read the same New Testament chapter daily throughout the year.

  1. The Solid Life Reading Plan (average 3-4 chapters per day). You'll read through the whole Bible in a year and a few important New Testament books twice.
  2. The New Testament Plan (1 chapter or 2 small chapters per day). You'll read the whole New Testament in a year and a few of the most important books twice.
  3. The One-Two Plan (average 4 chapters per day). You'll read through the whole Bible once and the New Testament twice a year.

Create Your Own Table of Contents

Set aside 4 to 5 pages at the front of your New Life Journal so that you can record each day's journal entry, date, title, topic, and key scripture references. If you'll do this, it will help you to quickly reference the things God has spoken to you.

Prayers: Requests and Answers

Set aside another 4 to 5 pages after the table of contents to record your prayer requests. Here you can record the names of people and things you're praying about. Enter the date you began praying, what you're praying for, and the date God answered your prayer. God is faithful!

September Reading Guide

Thursday, Sept 1-  2Chr 26, Isa 6-7, Mark 9
Friday, Sept 2-  2Kg 15, 2Chr 27, Mark 10
Saturday, Sept 3- Hos 1-3, Ps 92, Mark 11
Sunday, Sept 4- Hos 4-7, Mark 12
Monday, Sept 5- Hos 8-11, Mark 13
Tuesday, Sept 6- Hos 12-13, Mark 14
Wednesday, Sept 7- Hos 14, Micah 1-2, Ps 29, Mark 15
Thursday, Sept 8- Micah 3-4, Ps 105, Mark 16
Friday, Sept 9- Micah 5-7, John 1
Saturday, Sept 10- Isa 8-9, Ps 9, John 2
Sunday, Sept 11- Isa 10-12, John 3
Monday, Sept 12- Isa 13-14, John 4
Tuesday, Sept 13- Isa 15-17, John 5
Wednesday, Sept 14-  Isa 18-19, John 6
Thursday, Sept 15-  Isa 20-21, Ps 32, John 7
Friday, Sept 16- Isa 22-23, John 8
Saturday, Sept 17- Isa 24-25, Ps 42, John 9
Sunday, Sept 18- Isa 26-28, John 10
Monday, Sept 19- Isa 29-30, John 11
Tuesday, Sept 20- Isa 31-32, Ps 138, John 12
Wednesday, Sept 21- Isa 33-34, Ps 4, John 13
Thursday, Sept 22-  2Kg 16, 2Chr 28, Ps 113, John 14
Friday, Sept 23- 2Kg 17, Isa 35, Ps 8, John 15
Saturday, Sept 24-  2Kg 18, 2Chr 29, John 16
Sunday, Sept 25-  2Chr 30-31, Ps 39, John 17
Monday, Sept 26- Isa 36-37, John 18
Tuesday, Sept 27- 2Kg 19, 2Chr 32,  John 19
Wednesday, Sept 28-  2Kg 20, Isa 38-39, Ps 134, John 20
Thursday, Sept 29- Isa 40-41, John 21
Friday, Sept 30- Isa 42-43, Ps 82, Acts 1
 

August Reading Guide

Monday, Aug 1- Song 5-8, Ps 13, 1 John 3
Tuesday, Aug 2- 1Kg 11, Ecc 1, 1 John 4
Wednesday, Aug 3- Eccl 2-4, 1 John 5
Thursday, Aug 4- Eccl 5-7, 2 John, 3 John
Friday, Aug 5- Eccl 8-10, Ps 150, Jude
Saturday, Aug 6- Eccl 11-12, Ps 106, Rev 1
Sunday, Aug 7- 1Kg 12, 2Chr 10, Ps 125, Rev 2
Monday, Aug 8- 1Kg 13, 2Chr 11, Ps 130, Rev 3
Tuesday, Aug 9- 1Kg 14, 2Chr 12-13, Rev 4-5
Wednesday, Aug 10- 1Kg 15, 2Chr 14-16, Rev 6
Thursday, Aug 11- 1Kg 16-17, Ps 76, Rev 7
Friday, Aug 12- 1Kg 18-19, Rev 8-9
Saturday, Aug 13- 1Kg 20-21, Rev 10-11
Sunday, Aug 14- 1Kg 22, 2Chr 17, Rev 12
Monday, Aug 15- 2Kg 1, 2Chr 18-19, Ps 70, Rev 13
Tuesday, Aug 16- 2Kg 2-4, Rev 14
Wednesday, Aug 17- 2Kg 5, 2Chr 20, Rev 15-16
Thursday, Aug 18- 2Kg 6-7, Ps115, Rev 17
Friday, Aug 19- 2Kg 8, 2Chr 21, Ps 27, Rev 18
Saturday, Aug 20- 2Kg 9-10, Rev 19
Sunday, Aug 21- 2Chr 22-23, Ps 69, Rev 20
Monday, Aug 22-  2Kg 11-12, 2Chr 24,  Rev 21
Tuesday, Aug 23- Joel 1-3,  Rev 22
Wednesday, Aug 24- Jonah 1-4, Mark 1
Thursday, Aug 25- 2Kg 13, Ps 104, Mark 2
Friday, Aug 26- 2Kg 14, 2Chr 25, Mark 3
Saturday, Aug 27- Amos 1-3, Mark 4
Sunday, Aug 28- Amos 4-6, Mark 5
Monday, Aug 29-  Amos 7-9, Mark 6
Tuesday, Aug 30- Isa 1-2,  Mark 7
Wednesday, Aug 31- Isa 3-5,  Mark 8

July Reading Guide

Friday, July.1- 2Sam 19-21, Titus 2
Saturday, July.2- 2Sam 22, Ps 107, Titus 3
Sunday, July.3- 2Sam 23-24, 1Chr 21, Philemon
Monday, July.4- 1Chr 22-24, Heb 1
Tuesday, July.5- 1Chr 25-26, Ps 62, Heb 2
Wednesday, July.6- 1Kg 1, 1Chr 27, Heb 3
Thursday, July.7- 1Kg 2, 1Chr 28-29, Heb 4 
Friday, July.8- 1Kg 3, 2Chr 1, Ps 72, Heb 5
Saturday, July.9- 1Kg 4, Ps 22, Heb 6
Sunday, July.10- 1Kg 5-6, 2 Chr 2-3, Heb 7
Monday, July.11- 1Kg 7, 2 Chr 4, Heb 8
Tuesday, July.12- 1Kg 8, 2 Chr 5, Heb 9
Wednesday, July.13-  2Chr 6-7, Ps 127, Heb 10
Thursday, July.14- 1Kg 9, 2Chr 8, Heb 11
Friday, July.15- 1Kg 10, 2Chr 9, Heb 12
Saturday, July.16- Prov 1-2, Ps 128, Heb 13
Sunday, July.17- Prov 3-4, James 1
Monday, July.18- Prov 5-6, James 2
Tuesday, July.19- Prov 7-8, Ps 123, James 3
Wednesday, July.20-  Prov 9-11, James 4
Thursday, July.21- Prov 12-13, James 5
Friday, July.22- Prov 14-15, 1Pet 1
Saturday, July.23- Prov 16-17, 1Pet 2
Sunday, July.24- Prov 18-19, Ps 16, 1Pet 3
Monday, July.25- Prov 20-21, Ps 11, 1Pet 4
Tuesday, July.26- Prov 22-23, Ps 101, 1Pet 5
Wednesday, July.27-  Prov 24-25, 2Pet 1
Thursday, July.28- Prov 26-27, Ps 98, 2Pet 2
Friday, July.29- Prov 28-29, Ps 48, 2Pet 3 
Saturday, July.30- Prov 30-31, Ps 96, 1John 1
Sunday, July.31- Song 1-4, 1John 2

 

June Reading Guide

Wednesday, June 1- 1Sam 17, Ps 144, Matt 9
Thursday, June 2- 1Sam 18-19, Ps 59, Matt 10
Friday, June 3- 1Sam 20, Ps 81, Matt 11
Saturday, June 4- 1Sam 21, Ps 34, Matt 12
Sunday, June 5- 1Sam 22, Ps 57, 63,52,142, Matt 13
Monday, June 6- 1Sam 23-24, Ps 54, Matt 14
Tuesday, June 7- 1Chr 1, Matt 15
Wednesday, June 8- 1Chr 2, Ps 87, Matt 16
Thursday, June 9- 1Sam 25, 1Chr 3, Matt 17
Friday, June 10- 1Sam 26, 1Chr 4, Matt 18
Saturday, June 11- 1Sam 27-28, 1Chr 5, Matt 19
Sunday, June 12- 1Chr 6, Matt 20
Monday, June 13- 1Sam 29, 1Chr 7, Matt 21
Tuesday, June 14- 1Chr 8, Matt 22
Wednesday, June 15- 1Sam 30, 1Chr 9, Matt 23
Thursday, June 16- 1Sam 31, 2 Sam 1, 1Chr 10, Matt 24
Friday, June 17- 2 Sam 2, 1Chr 11, Matt 25
Saturday, June 18- 2 Sam 3, Matt 26
Sunday, June 19- 1Chr 12, Matt 27
Monday, June 20- 2 Sam 4, 1Chr 13, Ps 37, Matt 28
Tuesday, June 21- 2 Sam 5, 1Chr 14, Ps 30, 1Tim 1
Wednesday, June 22- 2 Sam 6, 1Chr 15, Ps 122, 1Tim 2-3
Thursday, June 23- 1Chr 16, Ps 35, 1Tim 4
Friday, June 24- 2 Sam 7, 1Chr 17, Ps 23, 1Tim 5
Saturday, June 25- 2 Sam 8-9, 1Chr 18, Ps 60, 1Tim 6
Sunday, June 26- 2 Sam 10, 1Chr 19-20, Ps 18, 2 Tim 1
Monday, June 27- 2 Sam 11-12, Ps 51, 2 Tim 2
Tuesday, June 28- 2 Sam 13-14,  2 Tim 3
Wednesday, June 29- 2 Sam 15, Ps 3,89,  2 Tim 4
Thursday, June 30- 2 Sam 16 -18, Ps 7, Titus 1

May Reading Guide

Monday, May 1- Deut 28, Gal 3
Tuesday, May 2- Deut 29-30, Gal 4
Wednesday, May 3- Deut 31-32, Gal 5
Thursday, May 4- Deut 33-34, Ps 68, Gal 6
Friday, May 5- Josh 1-3, Ps 94, Eph 1
Saturday, May 6- Josh 4-5, Ps 71, Eph 2
Sunday, May 7- Josh 6-7, Ps 85, Eph 3
Monday May 8- Josh 8-9, Eph 4
Tuesday, May 9- Josh 10-11, Eph 5
Wednesday, May 10- Josh 12-13, Ps 126, Eph 6
Thursday, May 11- Josh 14-15, Phil 1
Friday, May 12- Josh 16-18, Phil 2
Saturday, May 13- Josh 19-20, Ps 53, Phil 3
Sunday, May 14- Josh 21-22, Phil 4
Monday, May 15- Josh 23-24, Ps 99, Col 1
Tuesday, May 16- Judg 1-2, Ps 133, Col 2
Wednesday, May 17- Judg 3-4, Ps 14, Col 3
Thursday, May 18- Judg 5-6, Col 4
Friday, May 19- Judg 7-8, 1Th 1-2
Saturday, May 20- Judg 9-10, 1Th 3-4
Sunday, May 21- Judg 11-13, 1Th 5
Monday, May 22- Judg 14-16, 2Th 1-2
Tuesday, May 23- Judg 17-19, 2Th 3
Wednesday, May 24- Judg 20-21, Matt 1
Thursday, May 25- Ruth 1-4, Matt 2
Friday, May 26- 1Sam 1-3, Matt 3
Saturday, May 27- 1Sam 4-7, Matt 4
Sunday, May 28- 1Sam 8-9, Matt 5
Monday, May 29- 1Sam 10-12, Matt 6
Tuesday, May 30- 1Sam 13-14, Matt 7
Wednesday, May 31- 1Sam 15-16, Matt 8

April Reading Guide

Friday, Apr.1- Num 7, Ps 21, 1Cor 2
Saturday, Apr. 2- Num 8-10, 1Cor 3
Sunday, Apr. 3- Num 11-12, Ps 148, 1Cor 4
Monday, Apr. 4- Num 13-14, Ps 90, 1Cor 5
Tuesday, Apr. 5- Num 15, Ps 44, 1Cor 6
Wednesday, Apr. 6- Num 16, 1Cor 7
Thursday, Apr. 7- Num 17-18, 1Cor 8
Friday, Apr. 8- Num 19-20, Ps 47, 1Cor 9
Saturday, Apr. 9- Num 21, Ps 49, 1Cor 10
Sunday, Apr. 10- Num 22, Ps 84, 1Cor 11
Monday, Apr. 11- Num 23-24, 1Cor 12
Tuesday, Apr. 12- Num 25-26, 1Cor 13
Wednesday, Apr. 13- Num 27-28, 1Cor 14
Thursday, Apr. 14- Num 29, 1Cor 15
Friday, Apr. 15- Num 30-31, 1Cor 16
Saturday, Apr. 16- Num 32, Ps 74, 2 Cor 1
Sunday, Apr. 17- Num 33, Ps 65, 2 Cor 2
Monday, Apr. 18- Num 34-36, 2 Cor 3
Tuesday, Apr. 19- Deut 1-2, 2 Cor 4
Wednesday, Apr. 20- Deut 3-4, 2 Cor 5
Thursday, Apr. 21- Deut 5-6, Ps 64, 2 Cor 6
Friday, Apr. 22- Deut 7-8, Ps 139, 2 Cor 7
Saturday, Apr. 23- Deut 9-10, Ps 143, 2 Cor 8
Sunday, Apr. 24- Deut 11-13, 2 Cor 9
Monday, Apr. 25- Deut 14-15, Ps 88, 2 Cor 10
Tuesday, Apr. 26- Deut 16-17, Ps 2, 2 Cor 11
Wednesday, Apr. 27- Deut 18-20,  2 Cor 12
Thursday, Apr. 28- Deut 21-22, Ps 145, 2 Cor 13
Friday, Apr. 29- Deut 23-24, Ps 91, Gal 1
Saturday, Apr. 30- Deut 25-27, Gal 2